What is PFA?
Kant's Cave
Film Club
PFA Seminars
Philosophical walks
George Ross lecture
Joining PFA
Contact us

Philosophical walks

Chobham Common, 10 October 2015People who understand Plato say that the Florentines misunderstood him, and that their philosophy is most unsound. But in one respect at all events they used him rightly. Through him they recaptured for the world one of the secrets of ancient Greece - the secret of civilized conversation. The Middle Ages had separated serious discussion from daily life, confining it to the study and the lecture room and the hall of disputation. Florence, like Athens, summoned it into the open air, and bade it take its chance against birds and trees, evolve, if it could, from a dinner or a game of fives, yield, if it must, to a dance or to a song.

E M Forster: Gemistus Pletho

This is the idea behind our "philosophical walks". They aren't ambulatory lectures or structured discussions, simply walks during which philosophical discussion can take place due to the common interest of the walkers. Or not, if you'd rather just look at the scenery. The pace is unhurried, there is a stop for lunch in a pub, and, though boots are advisable as footpaths can get fairly muddy, if it's been dry trainers are quite adequate for the terrain of southeast England.  Dogs are welcome as far as I am concerned, but you should check if the pub for lunch takes the same view.

Have a look at our 2016/17 walks schedule below; as travel arrangements for all walks are posted some time in advance, it is worth checking the website for the next walk about a week beforehand, in case anything has had to be changed because of engineering works, etc. If you want further information about any of the walks, phone me on 07904 286774 or email secretary@pfalondon.org.

Andrew Dodsworth

Date Route Miles Railway station Journey time
Sat 13 Aug Flitwick circular 9 St Pancras 50 mins
SUN 28 Aug Princes Risborough circular 9 Marylebone 50 mins
Sat 10 Sep Hatfield Peverel circular 9 Liverpool Street 40 mins
Sat 24 Sep Alton circular 7 Waterloo 75 mins
Sat 8 Oct Winchfield circular 8 Waterloo 60 mins
Sat 22 Oct Snodland circular 8 St Pancras 55 mins
Sat 5 Nov Ware to St Margarets 8 Liverpool Street 40 mins
Sat 19 Nov Woldingham to Oxted 6 Victoria 45 mins
Sat 3 Dec Balcombe circular 7 London Bridge 40 mins
Sat 17 Dec Wendover to Great Missenden 6 Marylebone 55 mins
Sat 31 Dec Sevenoaks to Shoreham 6 Victoria 50 mins
Sat 14 Jan Chalfont to Rickmansworth 7 Marylebone 30 mins
Sat 28 Jan Ingatestone circular 8 Liverpool Street 30 mins
Sat 11 Feb Berkhamsted to Hemel Hempstead 8 Euston 30 mins
Sat 25 Feb East Malling circular 6 Victoria 60 mins
Sat 11 Mar Arlesey circular 8 Kings Cross 40 mins
Sat 25 Mar Battlesbridge circular 8 Liverpool Street 50 mins
Sat 8 Apr Sole Street circular 8 Victoria 50 mins
Sat 22 Apr Wendover to Stoke Mandeville 8 Marylebone 55 mins
Sat 6 May Godalming circular 9 Waterloo 45 mins
Sat 20 May Charing to Wye 9 St Pancras 60 mins
Sat 3 Jun Christs Hospital to Horsham 9 Victoria 60 mins
17 Jun Rowlands Castle circular 9 Waterloo 80 mins