What is PFA?
Kant's Cave
Film Club
George Ross lecture
Philosophical walks
Links
Joining PFA
Privacy Policy
Contact us

Kant's Cave: Wednesday 2 October 2019

The GeorgeOn the first Wednesday of every month the PFA meets at Kant's Cave for a lecture, debate and social evening. This normally takes place in the upstairs function room of the Cock Tavern in Somers Town; however as the Cock is not available on Wed 2 October, this meeting will be in the Talbot Room at the George, 75-77 Borough High St, London SE1 1NH (about three minutes walk from the Borough High St exit of London Bridge underground).

The idea of using the function room of a pub for our philosophy meetings is that we would like to combine serious philosophical activity with an informal exchange of ideas and views. We therefore invite everybody to stay on after the lectures for more talk and debate.

All lectures start at 7.30 pm; there is no bar upstairs but the downstairs bar is open all day. There is normally a 2 door charge for non-PFA members, but in October this will be 3, as the room at the George is a good deal more expensive than our usual venue.

Kant's Cave lectures 2019

Wed 2 Jan Anja Steinbauer Science, Ethics and Identity: A walk through Mary Midgley's ideas
Wed 6 Feb Dr Jane O'Grady How enlightening was the Enlightenment?
Wed 6 Mar Rick Lewis The philosophy of Philippa Foot
Wed 3 Apr Alexandra Konoplyanik The ethics of using personality tests in the workplace
Wed 1 May Bernard Hurley 70 years of The Concept of Mind
Wed 5 Jun Ronald Green Time to tell: A look at how we tick
Wed 3 July John Holroyd The Poverty of Patriotism
Wed 7 Aug Bill Thompson The Emperor's clothes, hello savoir, good riddance to sapiens
Wed 4 Sep Tom Rubens Matthew Arnold's Culture and Anarchy: Its relevance to today
Wed 2 Oct Dr Andrea Mura Reorienting borders
Wed 6 Nov Dr Eugen Fisher Title to be advised
Wed 4 Dec Dr Svenja Bromberg Title to be advised
Photograph of The George © Copyright Mark Percy and licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Licence